Creepy ~ Horripilante

For the past weeks I’ve been taking the Blogging 101 class by wordpress and it’s been great!. Everyday I get special assignments to understand how the blog world works. Along with hundreds of bloggers, I am learning the tools and tricks to make blogging more enjoyable.

Today’s task is to post something creepy. So, going through my travel pictures (just to stay within my main subject) I have found these images that not only scared me, but also made me very sad.

The pictures were taken somewhere in Malaysia, they show two men selling a few alive specimens of mantis shrimp. This kind of shrimp is supposed to be a fine dish among tourists, and even when it is ilegal to catch them, people buy them on the black market and take them to any local restaurant where they can be cooked.

I was very shocked to see these beautiful creatures trapped in plastic bottles and waiting to be boiled in some pot. It is not easy to spot them underwater and whenever I have had the chance to encounter one of them while diving, the little creature usually stares at me, I like to think that these  guys are able to see a 3D version of me with their magic eyes.

If you want to know why these crustaceans are so awesome, check:  Mantis Shrimp have the world’s best eyes

2015-04-08 17.55.43
Two dollar a piece ~ A dos dólares la pieza
2015-04-08 17.56.09
Trying hard to survive ~ Luchando por sobrevivir


Durante las últimas semanas he estado siguiendo el curso de wordpress: Blogging 101 y ¡me encanta! Cada día wordpress me envía deberes y sugerencias para mejorar mi blog. Junto a cientos de personas de todo el mundo, aprendo sobre las herramientas y trucos para disfrutar mas la experiencia blogera. La tarea de hoy es publicar algo horripilante, ya que no todos mis posts pueden hablar sobre cosas lindas.

Entre mis fotos de viajes (para no salirme del tema principal del blog) he encontrado estas que no sólo me parece horribles sino también tristes. Fueron tomadas en algún lugar de Malasia y muestran a dos hombres vendiendo gambas mantis en botellas de plástico. Este tipo de gamba es considerada un manjar entre lxs turistas. A pesar de que su pesca es ilegal, hay gente que las compra para llevarlas a cualquier restaurante y pedir que se las cocinen.

Para mi fue muy desagradable ver estos hermosos animalitos atrapados en botellas a la espera de ser hervidos en alguna olla. No es fácil descubrirlos bajo el agua y cuando tengo la suerte de ver uno, me quedo maravillada viéndolo, mientras que el también me observa un largo tiempo. Me gusta pensar que el pequeño crustáceo de ojos mágicos, puede ver una versión 3D de mí .

Sí te interesa saber porqué esta especie es tan fascinante, haz clic aquí: Nadie ve los colores como la gamba mantis

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Creepy ~ Horripilante

  1. That’s so sad! It made me think that I had somewhere some very sad and creepy photos of pigs about to be slaughtered, taken in a slaughter house…. It would have been a good use of these photos, maybe a bit too much for people on the blogging101 course though, as it’s bit controversial.
    I think choosing theses pictures is a great idea as you are giving a voice to these poor animals and make people think about this. There will be people out there who will refuse to buy these beautiful bottled mantis shrimps after reading you! so thank you! 🙂

  2. You are right Noémie, these kind of pictures could be very controversial, I know there are people who would tell me “what’s so bad about eating this shrimp when we already consume millions of tons of crustaceans?”
    To be honest I don’t know much about the nutrimental value of the mantis shrimp but just by seeing its size and number, there is not way you can fill out a plate with its few grams of meat.

    Of course not every traveler visiting South East Asia would go and eat them. It’s mostly Asian tourists who appreaciate them as a gourmandise.
    Thanks for reading 🙂

  3. ¡Hola! En la vida había visto una gamba mantis y, aun siendo un bicho raro, tiene su particular belleza. Por otra parte, reconozco que me gusta probar nuevos sabores, pero también siempre me ha parecido increíble (y a veces algo horripilante) lo que los humanos llegamos a comer, como si todo lo que se moviera fuese comestible. Por ejemplo, en este caso, ¿quién fue el primero al que se le ocurrió que una gamba mantis tendría buen sabor? A menos que te estés muriendo de hambre, no le encuentro explicación 🙂

    1. Hola! si igual reconozco que me gusta probar de todo, aunque creo hay ciertos animales que tienen una especie de carisma y no son para consumo humano. Además esta claro que no es comiendo estas gambas que acabaremos con el hambre mundial. Es lo que tu dices: los humanos tenemos la creencia de que podemos cocinar y comernos todo lo que se mueve. Supongo que estas gambas son especiales porque no son fáciles de encontrar. Y no, créeme que en el sitio donde las vi en venta la gente no muere de hambre.

      1. There should be some more at the link, but these are the general rules:
        Here are the rules as per standard format award posts:

        1-Select 15 other blogs you want to give the award to.
        2-You cannot nominate yourself or the person who has nominated you
        3-Write a post to show off your award
        4-Give a brief story of how your blog started
        5-Give a piece of advice or two to new bloggers
        6-Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog
        7-Attach the award to the post (right click and save, then upload)
        8-Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them
        Provide a link to the award post you created

  4. Si por un lado me entristece enormemente este tipo de prácticas totalmente despiadadas hacia los animales, por otro lado me alegra que personas conscientes como tú hablen de ello y denuncien esa triste realidad. Gracias por darles voz. Muchas gracias.

  5. Great post! Thabks for sharing the information of the online course! Can’t wait to star it. I will keep my eyes open during my trip in Malaysia and I hope I see this wear creatures only under the Sea!

Responder

